jnrny.blogg.se

The paris opera ahead
The paris opera ahead




the paris opera ahead

Situated just beyond the main entrance to the Opera Garnier, its Grand Staircase is a fitting focal point for this beautiful building. Take at look at the busts adorning the first and second floors and you might recognize Beethoven, Mozart and Bach. The Opera Garnier’s front facade alone features dozens of intricately carved sculptures.

the paris opera ahead

This overabundance of detail and decoration is indicative of the style of the late 19th century in Paris, a period where decadence knew no bounds. The first thing you’ll notice as you approach the opera house is its extravagant facade, which took nearly 100 different craftsmen to complete.

the paris opera ahead

The building is open for tours most days, but we recommend checking ahead of your visit just to be sure. (And) a childhood dream: I’m going to take on the artistic direction of a musical.The Opera Garnier is situated in the 9th arrondissement of Paris, right next to the popular Galeries Lafayette Haussmann. I want to spend more time with my two boys aged 14 and 11. They inspired me, I wanted to make them independent by inviting choreographers who came from everywhere.Ī: I have a book project where I talk about my journey. This is an extremely curious generation and open to the world. I’m quite proud of having taught them to highlight their qualities and not their faults.ĭuring the pandemic, we did everything to keep them motivated, and psychologically supported. There are dancers who are made to be stars, who excel in classical dance, others in contemporary. We went up to an average of 23 or 24 million ticket sales under my direction, against 17 million before.Ī: To have succeeded in highlighting everyone’s talent. We were 98 per cent full even after the pandemic. Q: What challenges were you not expecting?Ī: I always felt legitimate because as an ex-star, when I programme classical ballets, I take a lot of pleasure from passing on the roles (to a new generation).īut I realised there were pressures that I didn’t worry about when I was a prima ballerina: the occupancy rate, sales. Former director of dance for the Paris Opera Ballet Aurelie Dupont poses during a photo session in Paris, on June 17, 2022.






The paris opera ahead